New Sketchbook From Craig McCracken

FirefoxScreenSnapz001

Craig McCracken, creater of The Powerpuff Girls and Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends, has released a brand new sketchbook entitled Wander Over Yonder. I’m a huge fan of his character design work and can’t wait to get my signed copy in the mail. Don’t wait too long to order yours. Word on the street is they’re almost gone.

(EDIT: I received my copy in the mail today. It’s great art but not quite what I expected. I was hoping to see various character designs and random sketches from McCracken’s sketchbook. Instead there’s just one character. Every drawing (one per page) is a different pose or vignette of the fuzzy guy pictured above. The poses are expressive, the compositions are great, the backgrounds are delightful, and McCracken’s drawings say a lot with a little. But it’s all the same character.)

7 thoughts on “New Sketchbook From Craig McCracken

  1. I have to agree with you 100%, Cedric. As a matter of fact, I wish I had waited to order until after you got your copy, but I “fell” for your saying they were almost gone. I can’t blame you though, because I like the way Craig draws, BUT…
    I am disappointed with this so-called “sketchbook.” What it really is is an unfinished comic book/strip story, and not a particularly good one at that. As much as I like Craig’s drawing style, page after page of this single blah character was a waste of $20.

    • I actually like the character design of the little guy, and the art is really good. But you’re right, its misleading to describe it as a “sketchbook”.

      The entire book is a series of shots of the character walking through fields, forests, and mountains. I was impressed with how many different things McCracken invented for his character to do with just a stick and a hat and no other characters to interact with.

      Still, not what I expected.

      • Craig’s gonna be in Los Angeles at the Reuben Awards. You think we oughta bring our “sketchbooks” with us and ask for a refund? :0)

  2. Don’t know if you’ll even see this comment, since it’s attached to a bygone post, but I just had to share this with you, Cedric. Craig McCracken just ordered the latest issue of “Stay Tooned!”, and when I wrote to thank him I also requested an interview…to which he agreed! How cool is that?! While I was disappointed with his “sketchbook,” I’m still a fan of his work, so I can’t wait to talk to him.

Leave a Reply

