Ask Mr. Artist Guy

Announcing a new feature coming to Cedric’s Blog-O-Rama!: “Ask Mr. Artist Guy”

I love writing this blog, but sometimes it’s a challenge to come up with fresh and interesting topics to write about five times a week, every week, all year.

My friend and fellow illustrator/blogger Tom Richmond actually blogs more frequently than I do (I don’t know how he does it). Tom also has a regular “mailbag” feature on his blog where he answers questions emailed in from readers. Tom, if you are reading this, and if imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then consider yourself flattered. I’m about to steal your idea.

To keep this blog fresh and interesting I’m going to ask for a little help from you my faithful readers. If you’ve got a question about freelancing/illustration, send it to blog@cedricstudio.com. If you have a cool link or a suggestion for a topic, send that as well. I can’t promise that everything I receive will eventually make it onto the blog, but every email will get read and if I think it will make a good springboard for a blog post I’ll work it in eventually. I’ll also give name credit at the end of each post, so if you want to be anonymous just say so in your email.

This’ll be fun. I know you readers are smart, thoughtful, and curious, so I’m looking forward to hearing your ideas and questions.

6 thoughts on “Ask Mr. Artist Guy

  1. I’d like to see some posts on basics of inking (as opposed to simply drawing), as that’s an area I’m unfamiliar with. I think I tend to over-ink my stuff, and I’m wondering if you have some basic rules of thumb that could help out. Maybe just some stuff that was helpful to you when you go started inking?

    I guess technically you do your inking digitally now, but I guess I’m asking more about how you think through the process of line-finishing, whatever the medium.

    That’s my vote. I really appreciate the time you put into posting, Cedric. It’s really great to have one blog you can always depend on to have something new and interesting. I like that you spotlight your tools (i.e., the cintiq, software you use, etc.), so definitely keep that up as well.

    ~Randy

  2. Yes! I second that. I have a hard time getting my inking to look as great as yours. I tried making custom brushes with think-to-thick in Illustrator, but it gives the overall a very calligraphic look.

    Speaking about calligraphic, I wanted to thank you for recommending the Stephen Silver class to me! I am taking it now, and it is great. I am in the second class, and he mentioned in the class how Gerald Scarfe was an influence on the Hercules style. I looked him up in my ‘Art of Hercules’ book, and realized how his style of drawing was really loose. So now every morning I do a bunch of ‘Scarfe’ drawings as a warm up.

    But yes, your inking looks perfect. It would be great if you had some tips!

  3. Really enjoy the blog and what you share with fellow artists. You sure can draw. I’m excited to hear more about inking as well. I’ve been working professionally for 12 years now and I still can’t get comfortable inking things. Sometimes, or a lot of times I just draw something about three times and one of those will be the final. I always felt like I was cheating. All through art school I could sketch fairly well, but then would choke on the finals. I decided to try and just go straight to final. It was a clever and quick way to skirt the issue, and I feel like it’s plagued me ever since. I’m predominantly a cartoonist, and I use just about any writing implement to ink. From the scratch-board tool in Painter to a pilot marker to just a ball point pen. Sometimes I like what I do, other times I almost get sick to my stomach. I find vellum takes ink well, and I am a huge fan of the Faber-Castell (B) for brush for some line work. I never liked taking the time to dip a croquill pen. Plus the added anxiety carpet, my arm, and a huge scream.
    I’ve always hated the words “go to finish..” I don’t know why. I’ll see New Yorker cartoonists sketches and read that they have to now finish it, and sometime they look just about the same, or in some cases even worse.
    I think some ink over a light table.? Anyone? Anyone? I have no clue…
    If I have to really ink something and it’s going to be tedious, I’ll scan it into the computer, and adjust the contrast or layer opacity so it’s real light and then print it out. The sketch is sorta a suggestion for me, and I’m not tight when I ink over it. I ‘ll do several versions until I’m happy. Other times I’ll get out the ol’ lapboard, sit on the couch with bristol board, put on some horrible show and just draw till I like it. That always seems to be the loosest, freshest work I do, and maybe it’s just me, but I can see it in my work.
    Sorry for the randomness of this comment.

  4. I consider myself a pretty strong believer.

    Given your faith – how does that affect your freelancing work? Turn down any BIG money because of it? Finding yourself doing more ‘holy’ assignments?

    Careful not to draw the ladies a little too alluring? Or the men in as fools? (See: Comfort, Ray – National Atheist Day)

    How has it affected your work in general?

Leave a Reply

