Sketchbook Update

sketchpage10-17-07.jpg

Lately I’ve been trying to discipline myself to fill a page a day in my sketchbook, usually first thing in the morning as a warm-up. I’m not a morning person so this is a good way for me to clear the morning fog out of my brain. So far I’ve managed it about once every 2-3 days. This page combines some of my better warm-up sketches as of late.

I wish I could say these were all done from life (that is, after all, the best way to draw). However, my crazy schedule hasn’t allowed for me to leave the studio just to sketch. Most of these were done from photos. I keep a file of interesting faces and poses that I find in books and magazines, solely so that I can sketch them later. I also get a lot of good images by typing crazy terms into Google image search.

One thought on “Sketchbook Update

  1. That’s the trick, isn’t it — having the discipline. I’m a writer, rather than artist, but it’s the same thing. You have to keep doing it in order to be able to keep doing it. Looks like you’re succeeding at staying warmed up.

Leave a Reply

