Christmas in August?

cantata-sketch.jpg
Often I get asked to do seasonal or holiday-themed illustrations at odd times of the year. The reason is simple: In order to get something printed, published, or manufactured in time for a given holiday, clients often have to plan far in advance. I was recently comissioned to do a very simple spot illustration for a Christmas Cantata. This sketch was rejected because it was too cartoony, they wanted something classier. But I liked how it turned out, so I thought it would make a good piece for my blog.

One thought on “Christmas in August?

  1. I always love when someone hires a cartoonist and then complains about the result being too cartoony. Glad to hear I’m not the only one it happens to. Nice drawing, by the way. (little cartoony though)

Leave a Reply

