Day of the Field Trip Zombies!



(Click image for larger version.)

Last week I finally completed the artwork for “Day of the Field Trip Zombies” for Stone Arch Books. This is now the sixth children’s book I’ve ever illustrated, but unlike the rest it is a “graphic novel” (fancy name for a comic book). It was a lot of fun, but having never pencilled, inked, and colored a graphic novel before it took a lot longer than other books I’ve done. If you think of each panel as its own illustration, this 32-page book has over 60 illustrations, and approximately 1/4 of them are “crowd scenes” (which for my definitition is 5 or more characters in one shot). I had to really rush at the end so I’m being very selective about which pages I’m showing. But it really was a lot of fun, and the illustrations should work fine for the target audience (young children).

I think the book will be out this fall.

5 thoughts on “Day of the Field Trip Zombies!

  1. Looks great as usual Cedric! Here’s and old trick: draw the last few pages of the comic early on in the process. That way, if you get rushed, the last pages will still be strong.

    It’s kind of like Billy Crystal reading the last page of the novel first in “When Harry Met Sally”.

    But not really. 🙂

  2. Thanks Eddie. That’s exactly what I did. I jumped around so the quality doesn’t get from bad to worse from beginning to end. The last sample page I posted is actually the last page of the book. But thanks for the great advice!

  3. Hey Cedric
    looks like a cool job tho… always sucks when you feel a bit rushed at the end of a job!!
    But the images you have posted look great. I love the 3 portait style characters that are all next to each otehr – they look really cool

Leave a Reply

