My First Mini-Comic

This is my first attempt at illustrating my own sequentiual art project (that’s fancy artist talk for a comic book). It’s an 8-page gospel tract created for Living Waters, a publisher in California. You can read the whole thing by clicking here or on the image above.

The concept of tracts has always fascinated me. A good tract will grab someone’s attention in a clever or entertaining way and then at least get them to think. But a bad tract will just irritate someone and wind up in the garbage. Hopefully mine falls in the “good” category. I was going for something similar in concept to Chick tracts, minus the abrasive writing and outdated art.

Anyway, please post a comment and let me know what you think about the art and/or writing. Don’t pull any punches. I know not everyone will agree with the content, but I really want honest feedback (especially from non-Christians since that is the target audience). Thanks!

3 thoughts on “My First Mini-Comic

  1. Hey Cedric! Really clear message! Well drawn too!! The story really shows how man cannot save himself from his imperfections and the need for Christ!

    That’s good that you pointed out that God will judge everyone for even small things like lying and stealing. I’m not sure people are aware of that those “little” sins we’re all guilty of.

    I hope you do more of these. I agree the Chick tracts need better art! oooh man…

    Keep glorifying Jesus through your talents Cedric!

  2. Great work Cedric! I agree with what Heath said, and it’s fantastic to see a nicely drawn and well thought out tract. They do seem to be few and far between. Well done sir!

Leave a Reply

