Two Years in the Making…

This morning I was supposed to be the sketch artist for a local murder trial. But after we waited all morning, the judge announced that the trial had been postponed. So before leaving downtown St. Paul I decided to grab some lunch and sketch some of the local city life. It was wonderful! It’s been a long time since I got out of my studio to sketch just for fun. I also realized my life drawing skills are getting pretty rusty. I need to draw from life more often, it’s great exercise! Usually you only have a minute or two before the subject shifts position or walks away. It forces you to be fast and accurate.

As I sketched, suddenly I realized I only had six blank pages left in my sketchbook! At any given time I have about 5 or 6 different sketchbooks going, so it’s a big deal when I finally finish one off. The sketch on page 1 is dated 12/13/03, so it took me almost two years to sketch 192 pages. Hopefully I’ve improved.

Below are some of the sketches I did today. (The waitress must have liked them, she brought me free french fries!) Another sketchbook completed!





5 thoughts on “Two Years in the Making…

  1. these are great figures.. very nice gestures!…

    was curious how did you get ur header to be an image??

    haha cant figure out where to put my tag in the template so that the header i made works! 🙂

    i like how colorful it makes your blog look!!

  2. Great Blog Cedric!
    These are some very nice pencils.
    Some good volume in them.

    and the Strudel below- looks like he is loosing parts of his brains- it really adds to the strange/ wacky quality of the characters.

    -brian

Leave a Reply

