I’m Giving A Talk On Freelancing At The CTN Animation Expo

The CTN Animation Expo is without a doubt a “must-see” event for anyone interesting in working in the animation industry. On Nov. 18-20 hordes of animation lovers will once again be descending on the Burbank Marriott Convention Center for three days and nights of animation goodness. There’s still time to register if you’d like to attend.

It’s just been confirmed that I’ll be giving a presentation on freelancing on Saturday, Nov. 19. at 4:30pm in the Exec Boardroom. My talk is titled “Be Your Own Boss: Freelancing Tips and Tricks”. Here’s a summary:

In the current economy more and more companies are hiring artists as freelancers. Unfortunately many talented people wind up earning less than they could, or miss out on opportunities altogether, because they haven’t learned about the business side of being an artist.

Cedric Hohnstadt has owned an illustration studio for over fourteen years and has created work for end clients such as Hasbro, Disney, DreamWorks, Verizon, Best Buy and Target. After working on hundreds of client projects he’s learned a lot of tips and tricks the hard way, and now he’s here to pass on some of them on to you. He’ll discuss how to know if you are cut out for freelancing, how to promote yourself, how much you should charge, how to talk to clients about money, and look at different areas where an artist can find work outside of the animation industry.

As a freelance illustrator and character designer I draw a lot of inspiration from the animation industry. This talk is my humble way of giving a little back. If you’ll be attending the Expo and you have any specific questions about freelancing you’d like me to touch on, feel free to contact me and offer a suggestion. I’ll be happy to consider it as I prepare my talk.

You can register for the Expo or get more info at www.ctnanimationexpo.com.

EDIT: I’m told that my presentation is part of a limited series of workshops that are pre-pay only. Most of the seminars at the event are free to attendees but the organizers have designated mine as one of a few for which seating is limited and there is an extra fee to get in (in my case $5). I’m not sure but I guess you have to log back in to your registration account to sign up and pay for the workshops. I’ve also been told that there are only three open spots left for my workshop, so if you want to get in you’d better act fast.

4 thoughts on “I’m Giving A Talk On Freelancing At The CTN Animation Expo

  1. The Expo itself was terrific as always. At any given time there were at least 2-3 different workshops going on, plus live art demos and a jam-packed show floor. I attended several amazing and inspiring presentations, too many to list here and came back with an armload of inspirational art books. There was also a free life drawing session with costumed models going on all day, every day, out in the lobby. I can’t say enough good things about the Expo. If you are an artist who has any interest in the animation industry, you really need to check it out .

  2. HI Cedric, are the Cedric Hohnstadt, who has a critique of the Kenneth Copeland ministries? I was searching around the religious websites and found several exposes of popular tv preaches. I agree with the concerns you raise about the prosperity gospel. I cannot find critiques based on fact of others like Joel Osteen, Benny Hinn and co. Any thoughts?

  3. When I originally started in the animation business it was as a character layout artist (Figs-1, 2), which was the next step after the storyboard. Back then the storyboard was a much simpler visualization of the script. You just laid out the shots and didn’t worry much about the acting. Quite often we’d have paragraphs of dialog under one panel with the character’s finger pointing up in a moment of realization.

Leave a Reply

