Funny Video: Freelancing in the Real World

My friend and fellow illustrator Tom Richmond recently posted this YouTube video on his blog. It’s a hilarious illustration of the ways some clients will try to take advantage of freelancers. Fortunately I don’t run into this kind of thing much anymore. My clients for the most part have been great and treat me like a total professional, and I’ve been at it long enough that I can usually sniff out the bad ones before the project ever gets off the ground. But they are out there and every once in a while someone will try to pull something like this.

If you’re relatively new to freelancing, watching this video might be good therapy:

Incidentally, if you find yourself relating to this video a little too much you might benefit from reading my two-part article, “How To Bid Out A Project”. You might also want to visit the Buiness/Freelancing section of my Recommended Resources list on Amazon.com.

4 thoughts on “Funny Video: Freelancing in the Real World

  1. Hi Cedric, this is the first time what I visit your blog and I loved it. Congratulations by yours designs, they are very beauty and I’ll visit it frequently.
    Best regards from Brazil.

  2. Hey, Cedric. I was just browsing some of the older stuff on your blog when I came across this. Hilarious!! The funniest thing about it is that it’s so very true.

Leave a Reply

